This is our honeymoon suite, consisting of two and a half rooms that are comfortably furnished in a charming colonial style; it has a separate entrance to allow for privacy but is still conveniently connected to the main house through a breezeway.
When the building was completed in 1807, as many as six house servants were quartered in double-deck bunks upstairs, with straw mattresses and none of the modern conveniences that can be found today.
Awaiting visitors downstairs is now a relaxing sitting room in which the building’s original cooking fireplace continues to burn real firewood even today.
Amenities include a full modern bathroom, closet, a double bed with the finest mattress, ample lighting for both casual and consummate readers, a well-stocked library, air-conditioning and individual heat control, and a refrigerator containing complimentary snacks and beverages.
BOOK NOW 1-800-BNB-1812
The entire second floor of the Manor House consists of two bedrooms with a full modern bath conveniently between.
The Captain John Room is named after the Revolutionary War officer who had the house built in 1812, making it the second manor house to be completed on the original 2,000-acre Lord Fairfax grant.
The other bedroom is known as the Bachelor Willis Room, named in honor of the last member of the Dearing family to live in the house. The suite is ideal for couples traveling together or a family with adolescent children.
Both rooms are attractively furnished with period pieces. There is a double bed in each room with the finest mattresses available; each room possesses its own closet, phone, and a refrigerator stocked with complimentary snacks and beverages.